A restaurant.

I went to a new joint in town,
They served food and cheer.
They also served me crisps,
With unlimited beer.

I ordered the platter,
The one with everything on it?
It took thirty five minutes,
The time didn’t quite matter.

For as I looked around,
I noticed the decor.
It seemed like a yesterday.
I’d given up on before.

As the beer satiated me,
I thought of how much
This place resembled my life,
Could this be possible such?

On further investigation,
The menu read as follows.
Some meat, some love
Food and then, hollows.

There were salads and dessert,
Also, passion and love.
I chose the platter with all,
All that was above!

Guilty, I looked around.
The walls were my beating heart!
Was I ready to take the plunge?
The realisation hit me like a dart.

I returned my food,
But could I return what I felt?
For I…had ordered,
A plate full of myself!

Lost moments of glory,
Summer love and rainy afternoons.
A tangent of youth and,
A mouthful of macaroons.

And for dessert there was you.
And the evening walk around
The fair in October,
The feelings that abound.

I couldn’t look at the delicacies,
The manager looked worried.
The review on Zomato
Might just turn out hurried.

He gently came up,
Warmly, he asked.
“May I help you, madam?”
As the fleeting emotion passed.

I said I would be leaving,
That I needed to pay my due.
He laughed and looked down,
Said “This is all you!”

I looked quizzically,
And then I noticed them.
The people were my acquaintances,
My people, my friends.

It was all in my head,
I had ordered as my muse.
I think I need a doctor,
Probably Dr. Seuss.

Panicked, I ran.
And I felt a thud on my fist
I banged the wall repeatedly,
Until it turned to mist.

And I walked into a valley,
With a river full of red.
Sweaty, I woke up
With a shaky hand on my bed.

I looked around to make sure,
Yes, it was an imagination.
My memories were dangerous,
My memories were my salvation!

Leave a Reply

