And RIP.

$$ Million Dollar Baby $$
Yes, I finally saw this movie. After being asked to, for a million years and by a gazillion people, I SAW IT.
And now I know why. This movie, although not a true story is moving, to say the least. I never really came about to sitting on my sweet ass to watch it through and through ’cause I thought (read: assumed) it to be one of those triumph over self kinda flick with a chick boxer. So wrong! It is nothing like that. If i could say something, I’d go to the extent of saying- It is better than Cinderella man. Now if you haven’t watched Cinderella Man, you should die. die!

Kaun Jeetega?!

Both the movies have a similar theme but totally different storylines and approaches. Clint Eastwood, as amazingly suave as he is, has done a marvellous job. And Hilary Swank, omfg, if you have seen P. S I Love You and you think you know her, *surprise surprise* you do NOT. She is superb in her skills and by skills I don’t just mean acting- I mean her hooks, her punches, everything. I was attracted to her, yes, drawn towards her. Anyway, The thing is, the movie is a sad movie. It’s not even close to being a comedy. When does one decide that life is ready to be severed? Euthanasia has always been a debated issue. Still is. There are a few points in favour of and a few against it. Well, I am pro- euthanasia for some very simple reasons-

  • It is my life and if I am in such insufferable pain that I would rather be free off it, I should have that option.
  • If I am in coma for the last 15 years, then I sure as hell know I’m not seeing the light of day outside a hospital. What will I do with my life, assuming a miracle happens and I do live and live well? 15 years have vanished. In those 15 years, so much has happened that I would probably just kill myself out of anguish and anxiety of not being able to cope with things. (like in The Shawshank Redemption, when the sweet old library man Brooks) I was here.
  • There is a limit until which one can endure after which there is nothing left to do but sit and wait for death to come and strike eventually. Instead of waiting, might as well get on with it. Eh?
  • Yes life is beautiful, nonetheless- crap. Tell that to a person who has her C1, C2 vertebrae fractured and her leg amputated and she’ll show what beautiful is.

But my mother isn’t pro euthanasia. And she thinks-

  • Pain often makes us want top escape it. Everyone would choose that option if it were made legally available. Pain makes us decide wrongly. suffering often blinds the ones who care. They get so preoccupied with the thought of relieving you that they take the wrong decision..make the wrong call.
  • There is always hope. What if, after those 15 years, everything is fine and everything suddenly falls back into place? Wouldnt it be a pity to lose out on that chance?

Although I have more points in my favour, she does have a valid reason to belive in what she believes in. So in my opinion, with valid clauses and well-justified age limits, reasons, conditions and statuses, euthanasia should be legalised. Yes, it is a touchy topic. No, everyone will not agree to what I say. But in the end, the truth is :

Leave a Reply

